Home | Weather
..Board of Commissioners
..County Council

Waste Management

Director: Timothy Neese

Address: Solid Waste Management District
500 North Nappanee Street
Elkhart, IN 46514
Phone:  (574) 293-2269                               

8:00 am - 5:00 pm, Monday
8:00 am - 4:00 pm, Tuesday - Friday


The Solid Waste Management District of Elkhart County was created in compliance with House Enrolled Act (HEA) 1240, which was signed into state law by the Indiana House of Representatives on March 20, 1990.

HEA 1240 is a comprehensive bill designed to address the solid waste concerns that Indiana and many states are facing.

The primary objectives are to protect the environment, encourage the development of environmentally sound business and industry and recycling practices, enabling Indiana to effectively manage its own waste future.

The objective of the solid waste management district is to promote recycling, source reduction and other acceptable forms of activities which diverts material from entering the landfill.  The solid waste district is also involved in educating the public on various environmental related issues including, but not limited to, proper disposal of household hazardous waste and composting.  The district sponsors thirteen household hazardous waste collections for all Elkhart County residents which are held in Elkhart and Goshen.  Through the efforts of the solid waste management district, Elkhart County is one of the top districts in the state with the highest recycling percentages.

The solid waste management district is overseen by a seven member board of directors consisting of:

  • Three Elkhart County Commissioners
  • An appointee of Elkhart County Commissioners who must be elected in the county
  • A representative of the Elkhart County Council
  • The Mayor of Elkhart representing the largest municipality in the county
  • A member of the Elkhart City Council representing the largest legislative body in the county

There is also an advisory committee made up of a cross section of individuals who must reside in Elkhart County representing business, government and environmental interests.  One of their functions is to review various concerns and to advise the solid waste board.

2014 Solid Waste Management District
Advisory Committee Meetings

This is the 2014 schedule for the Solid Waste Management District advisory committee. All meetings are held at the Administrative Office Building, 117 North Second Street, Goshen, IN 46526. All meeting times are at 7:30 A.M. in room 104 unless other wise noted.

  • Friday, February 14th

  • Thursday, June 19th (rooms 106 and 108)

  • Monday, July 14th: Joint meeting with the Solid Waste Board, 8:00 am, prior to Commissioners' meeting

  • Thursday, September 11th

  • Thursday, December 11th



Copyright 2007